Pioneering Style

I’ve bragged before about my childhood style.  I was a tomboy rebel, living it up in giant stained sweatshirts and gym shorts that I cut so that the leg-holes looked like rows of shark teeth (yes, I really did that).  It’s easy to look back at my sartorial history and shudder, but for the most part, I’m pleased that I was a girl who rocked my parents’ running tees and a hairstyle that made me look like one of the sons from Home Improvement.  In celebration of that girl, I present this photo, a rare example of childhood style that I still covet:

Me, or Ellen DeGeneres' long lost daughter

This photo was taken in preparation for a class trip to Yosemite, where we dressed like pioneers, ate food prepared by our own grubby fingers, and worked with a blacksmith to bend hot metal.  It was just as amazing as it sounds.

If I could go back in time, I would definitely revisit 3rd grade, despite the awkwardness, the growing pains, and the 4 weeks of Mononucleosis.  And you’d better believe I’d come back to 2012 with that fringed jacket.

4 thoughts on “Pioneering Style

  1. Pingback: Retro Style: Baby Biker | Bowl of Bees

Leave a Reply

