No to Parties, Yes to the Dress

In my first real post-college job, someone thought that it would be a good idea for me to be in charge of planning a social event for the entire company.  I am pretty much the last person you should put in charge of planning your big holiday bash.  First of all, my ideal party would be a night spent enjoying trashy magazines and Trader Joe’s wine with a few close friends.  Second, I don’t like calling people on the phone, which is something you can’t really avoid if you’re contacting DJs and caterers and event coordinators.  Third, I have strong opinions on party appropriate music, and few people agree with me (what do you mean, you don’t want to boogie down to Hole’s “Doll Parts”?)

I almost got rid of this blue sweater in last month's swap, but I'm so glad I didn't, because then I wouldn't be able to awkwardly grasp at it in this photo.

Despite my clear lack of party planning skills, I managed to scrape together an event (with help from kind coworkers, of course).  As a reward for my party planning prowess, I skipped over to Pacific Trading Company in downtown Santa Cruz and bought a new dress for the long awaited work social.  The French Connection confection was pricey, but I had a real job that paid in real American dollars and I felt justified in splurging.

Look close! That's Nancy Drew on my necklace. Thanks to Christopher's parents for that bookish accessory.

It’s been over two years since I shelled out for this dress, and it’s more than paid for itself in that time.  I wear it weekly—it’s demure enough for teaching, casual enough for daytime, and exciting enough for dinner dates.  I wear it so much that I have to ration the amount of photos I can take while wearing it.  If you judged my wardrobe based on photographic evidence, you’d think I had a closet full of replicas of this dress, like a cartoon character.

Me and the dress, with the members of my imaginary band. Lindsay (#3) and Laurel (#1) are exceptionally stylish and lovely ladies who will hopefully appear on the blog again soon.

Have you ever fantasized about having a closet full of the same thing, like Charlie Brown? Have you ever fantasized about Charlie Brown?  You might want to keep that to yourself.