Lazy Vegetarian: Jamming Out

make gif

Last week, I volunteered to bring dessert to my friend Robin’s house.  “Great,” she said. “But you should know that my fiancé can’t eat nuts, white flour, or dairy products of any kind.”

Excellent, I thought. Pressure’s off. I don’t have to make anything fancy and complicated (not that I would have anyway, but now I had an excuse).  But then I realized that all of my go-to vegan dessert recipes involve nuts. I am nuts about nuts (HA). But a few page turns into The Joy of Vegan Baking and I found a recipe that worked and was easy enough for a lazy baker like me.

Ingredients gathered!

Here it is, adapted for utmost laziness:

1. Find an oven. Heat it to 350. Grease up an 8 or 9 inch pan.
2. Dump 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of flour (I used rice flour, but you can use whatever kind you like), 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/8 tsp salt, and 1 cup quick-cookin’ oats into a bowl or dog dish or whatever you have handy. Mix it up, baby.

3. Add 1/2 cup softened ghee or butter or Earth Balance (I’ve used both ghee and EB to great effect). Use your (clean) hands to crumble it all together. Press about 2/3 of that crazy mixture into your pan.

My mom graciously agreed to hand model so that I could take photos.

4. Bust out the jam. This is where you can get crazy. I used raspberry spread, but you don’t have to. You are a free soul! What, you like apples? Use apple butter. I don’t care. Oh, you’re feeling tropical? Try some guava jam. You only have boring grape jelly in your refrigerator? That’s fine. Spoon it out. Spread it on to what you already have in the pan. I don’t even measure how much jelly I use, because I’m basically the Evel Knievel of lazy baking, but the recipe says to use 3/4 cup.

We be jammin’.

5. Sprinkle the rest of the mixture on top of your jam layer. Give it a light press with your hand. Just tap it a bit.

Almost donezo! Time to bake.

6. Pop it into the oven for 35-40 min. Keep an eye on it. Be sensible.
7. Take it out of the oven.  Nibble. Munch. Party.

Done and done! Time to chomp down.

My friend and her hubs-to-be both enjoyed the fruits of my labor (GET IT? I used fruit in the recipe. Hilarious).  The lazy vegetarian strikes again!